The Tilford Group

Welcome to the Tilford Group

Pittsburg State University’s Tilford Group formed April 27, 2007, in response to the first Michael Tilford Conference on Diversity and Multiculturalism, named in honor of the late Dean of the Graduate School at Wichita State University. Our nascent organization quickly found an advocate in Dr. Steve Scott, then Provost now President of the University. The current Provost Dr. Lynette Olson continues the tradition of providing fiscal and administrative support.

Composed of volunteers from among faculty, staff and administration, Tilford Group members actively and cooperatively initiate efforts to attract speakers, to present panels, to coordinate workshops and to produce academic and cultural events dedicated to reflecting our commitment to diversity and multiculturalism. Specific initiatives may be viewed in our Activities, Events, and Speakers page.

Tilford group photo 2017

2017 - 2018 Tilford Group | Bottom row: Ananda Jayawardhana, Mark Johnson and Heather Eckstein. Second row: Howard Smith, Cebrail Karayigit, Cindy Johnson. Third row: Christopher Anderson, Jorge Leon, Melinda Rolfs, Donna Sue Pintar. Fourth row: Leo Hudson, Susan Schreiner, Lindsey Taggart. Fifth row: Harold Wallace III, Sandra Cox, Deatrea Rose, Dory Quinn. Sixth row: Barbara Bonnekesson, Kristen Humphrey. Top row: Jason Kegler, Mary Mercer, Harriet Bachner. Photo Credit: Paige Bowman

Mission Statement

As volunteers, we members of the Pittsburg State University Tilford Group seek to:

  • Uphold the high ideals personified by Professor Tilford;
  • Recognize, promote, respect and appreciate diversity and multiculturalism in our community both local and global; and,
  • Educate faculty, staff, students and citizens to accept diversity and multiculturalism in its many and varied forms while developing economic, practical and social competencies enabling each of us to live a productive, successful life.
  • Meetings
  • The Michael Tilford Conference on Diversity and Multiculturalism
  • Upcoming Events
  • Contact Us

We hope to see you at the next Tilford Group Meeting in the Overman Student Center!

Meeting dates for 2017 - 2018

  • Wednesday, September 6, 3:00 p.m. Meadowlark Room, OSC
  • Tuesday, October 10, 2:00 p.m. Meadowlark Room, OSC
  • Tuesday, November 7, 2:00 p.m. Kansas 1 Room, OSC
  • No meeting for December
  • Tuesday, January 23, 2:00 p.m. Meadowlark Room, OSC

Map of the Overman Student Center (PDF)

Tilford logo

This year's Michael Tilford Conference on Diversity and Multiculturalism will be held at Fort Hays State University on October 23-24, 2017. The conference provides an opportunity for faculty, staff, and administrators at Kansas Regents' institutions to discuss diversity in higher education. The theme this year is, "Moving Kansas Forward: Teaching, Advising, and Supporting Practices of Equity".

The featured speakers are CNN Political Analyst, Lawyer, & Activist, Bakari Sellers, and Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs for Student Life & Title IX Coordinator at Fort Hays State University, Dr. Teresa Clounch. More info on this year's conference >>

Events scheduled for 2018 - 2019 school year TBA.

Secretary: Dory Quinn
Tilford Group
218A Russ Hall
Pittsburg State University
1701 South Broadway
Pittsburg KS 66762

Phone: 620-235-6584

  • Tilford Group Officers
  • Tilford Group Members
  • Meeting Minutes

President, President Elect, Secretary, Treasurer

Sandra Cox, Kristin Humphrey, Dory Quinn, Jorge Leon Jr.

Deatrea Rose, Sandra Cox, Dory Quinn, Jorge Leon Jr.

Susan Schreiner, Deatrea Rose, Tami Hennigh, Jorge Leon Jr.

Deatrea Rose, Susan Schreiner, Meagan Smejdir, Ananda Jayawardhana

Leo Hudson, Deatrea Rose, Megan Corrigan, Ananda Jayawardhana

David Adams, Leo Hudson, Harriet Bachner, Ananda Jayawardhana

Harriet Bachner, David Adams, John Franklin, Ananda Jayawardhana

John Franklin, Harriet Bachner

Roy Janisch, John Franklin

Mark Johnson, Roy Janisch

Ananda Jayawardhana, Mark Johnson

Harriet Bachner
Barbara Bonnekessen
Susan Carlson
Sunghee Choi
Sandra Cox
Dan Ferguson
John Franklin
Stephanie Gonzalez
Maria Grothaus
Jenny Hellwig
Tami Hennigh
Dick Herling
Leo Hudson
Kristen Humphrey
Roy Janisch
Ananda Jayawardhana
Cindy Johnson
Mark Johnson
Pawan Kahol
Jason Kegler
Jorge Leon
Patricia Lindley
Kristen Livingston
James McAfee
Jamie McDaniel
Cliff Morris
Grant Moss
Hermann Nonnenmacher
Lynette Olson
Donna Sue Pintar
Joey Pogue
Dory Quinn
Melinda Roelfs
Eric Rojas
Deatrea Rose
Phil Rudd
Brian Sanford
Susan Schreiner
Regan Slater
Meagan Smejdir
Cindy Smith
Benjamin Tayo
LaMont Thompson
Lee Young
Laura Lee Washburn
Randy Winzer