Describe me

Campus Operations

Describe me

Academic Programs

Describe me

Campus Culture

Describe me

Partnerships and Outreach

Campus Culture


Recycling Initiatives

PSU Recycling engages in initiatives year-round to maintain a culture of sustainability. From Move-In Mayhem at the beginning of each semester to Move Out Madness at the end, our recycling team diverts waste and repurposes items from a variety of events and operations.  

Learn more about campus recycling initiatives

Student Sustainability Fee

Available Fall 2018, the Student Sustainability Fee will offer mini-grants to students and faculty looking to complete projects furthering sustainability. A "review committee" will begin accepting and reviewing mini-grant applications in the spring 2019.

Sustainability Committee

The University Sustainability Committee meets monthly to develop and monitor the implementation of the institution's sustainability plan. Chaired by the Campus Sustainability Coordinator, the Committee is represented by faculty, Deans and department chairs, representatives from related offices across campus, and students. The Committee submits a report to the University Strategic Planning Council on an annual basis (May 1st of each year), focusing sustainability planning activities for the previous year.

  • Committee members

Brian Peery (Campus Sustainability Coordinator) 

bpeery@pittstate.edu

Jon Bartlow (Committee Co-Chair)

jbartlow@pittstate.edu

David Adams

dadams@pittstate.edu

Tom Amershek

tamershe@pittstate.edu

Christine Brodsky

cbrodsky@pittstate.edu

Steve Cox

spcox@pittstate.edu

Marc Daczewitz

mdaczewitz@pittstate.edu

Jean Dockers

jdockers@pittstate.edu

Joe Firman

jfirman@pittstate.edu

June Freund

jfreund@pittstate.edu

Lindell Haverstic

lhaverstic@pittstate.edu

Catherine Hooey

chooey@pittstate.edu

Jim Hughes

thughes@pittstate.edu

Dai Li

dli@pittstate.edu

Delia Lister

dalister@pittstate.edu

Alicia Mason

amason@pittstate.edu

Greg Murray

gmurray@pittstate.edu

Shawn Naccarato

snaccara@pittstate.edu

Tonya Pentola

tpentola@pittstate.edu

Mary Carol Pomatto

mpomatto@pittstate.edu

Pete Rosen

prosen@pittstate.edu

Dennis Sellegren

dsellegren@pittstate.edu

Tim Senecaut

tsenecaut@pittstate.edu

 Dixie Smith

dsmith@pittstate.edu

Jeff Stotts

jstotts@pittstate.edu

Bob Susnik

bsusnik@pittstate.edu

Kristina Taylor

kdtaylor@pittstate.edu

Jim Triplett

jtriplet@pittstate.edu

Cate Walker

cawalker@pittstate.edu

SGA

sga@pittstate.edu

recreation

Health and Well-Being Classes and Facilities

Health and well-being classes and facilities found at Pittsburg State help encourage a healthy and happy lifestyle among students, faculty, and the local community. Classes include physical fitness courses from racquetball to basketball, therapeutic recreation courses such as yoga, and a general introduction to lifetime fitness.

PSU offers facilities to students, faculty, and community residents including the Garfield Weede Building and pool, an indoor track, turf football field, and weight room at the Robert W. Plaster Center, and the Student Recreation Center, which features 3 full-sized basketball courts, various weights and exercise machines, and fitness classrooms.

The Bryant Student Health Center provides Pittsburg State University students with high quality evidenced based medical care and health education to support collegiate success and sustained wellness.

Nature Reach

An initiative of the PSU Biology Department since 1985, Nature Reach provides natural history and environmental education outreach programming to school and community groups. Off-campus programs bring live animals directly to local classrooms. Summer programs provide opportunities for hands-on learning. Teachers become better educators with our teacher workshops. Valuable, real world training is given to college students preparing for careers from veterinary medicine to wildlife management.