Gorilla Book Club Logo

 

Pittsburg State University Alumni & Constituent Relations has partnered with Axe Library to create the Gorilla Alumni Book Club for alumni and friends.

Join our virtual book club to connect with fellow Gorillas while enjoying books authored by PSU alumni. The Gorilla Alumni Book Club connects members with a private forum where all participants can discuss the current book and network with one another. The group will read one book every two months, so readers have plenty of time for each book. Participation is free – you just need a copy of the book to enjoy!

How it works:

  1. Sign up for the Gorilla Alumni Book Club.
  2. Join the Gorilla Alumni Book Club Facebook group. This is where members will participate in weekly discussion questions regarding the books. Members can participate as much or as little as they like.
  3. Purchase or borrow the book from your local library. Axe Library will house copies of the selected book.

Frequently asked questions:

How often will books be read, what is the time commitment and what are the expectations?

We plan for the group to read one book every six weeks. The books selected cover a range of genres and length. The maximum amount of pages to read in a week is approximately 60 pages, and at times, this number will be much lower. If you have between one to two hours a week to read and participate, you should be fine.

Will there be any in-person meetings for the book club?

The book club will mostly be virtual and online. At the end of some of the books, we plan to welcome members to campus to have an open discussion and enjoy coffee and other beverages. When these occur, we will do our best to live stream the discussion to the Facebook group to keep everyone involved. However, the goal of this group is to allow participation from anywhere you have internet access.

Is there any cost to participate?

Participation is free! You just need a copy of the book to enjoy.

How do I get the books?

Members can purchase the book or borrow the book from local libraries.

How do book club discussions work?

The book club will have a moderator from Axe Library who manages the Facebook group where discussions occur online. The moderator will pose questions to the group and facilitate conversation about topics in the book. Members will be encouraged to post, share, and discuss as well. The Facebook group allows for ongoing conversation and makes it easy for readers to connect with each other online.

What if I am unable to participate in a week's discussion?

Real life happens and we understand that. The benefit of a virtual book club is that you can go back and see what you missed, as well as further add to the discussion. The discussion does not stop, so feel free to contribute at any time! Just be aware if you have not finished reading the weekly portion, there might be spoilers.

I've already signed up. How do I log in?

If you have already signed up, click here to join the Facebook group. 

Questions:

Contact Danielle Driskill, Assistant Director of Alumni & Constituent Relations, at ddriskill@pittstate.edu or Ruth Monnier, Learning Outreach Librarian and Assistant Professor, at rmonnier@pittstate.edu.

Happy Reading, and Go Pitt State!

Schedule:

Our first reading will begin January 15, 2020. We will begin with Country Hardball by Steve Weddle (ISBN - 9781440570810). Steve graduated from Pittsburg State in 1994 with a Master of Arts in English. 

Synopsis: After more than a decade spent in and out of juvenile detention, halfway houses, and jail, Roy Alison returns to his rural hometown determined to do better, to be better. But what he finds is a working-class community devastated by the economic downturn - a town without anything to hold onto but the past.

Staying with his grandmother, Roy discovers a family history of good intentions and bad choices, of making do without much chance of doing better. Around him, families lose their sons to war, hunting accidents, drugs. And Roy, along with the town, falls into old patterns established generations ago.

A novel-in-stories in the tradition of Bonnie Jo Campbell, Donald Ray Pollock, Denis Johnson, and Alan Heathcock, Country Hardball is a powerfully observed and devastatingly understated portrait of the American working class.

  • January 15: Introductions, Gorilla Alumni Book Club overview
  • January 22: Read pages 1-48 (Champion-Good Times Gone) prior to this discussion
  • January 29: Read pages 49-104 (The Things with Feathers - Debts to Pay) prior to this discussion
  • February 5: Read pages 104-147 (Country Hardball - Prodigal) prior to this discussion
  • February 12: Complete the book by reading pages 147-207 (Miracles - Harvest) prior to this discussion

Country Hardball

Amazon     Walmart     Barnes & Noble

Also available in e-book.

 

Upcoming Books:

Questions? Contact PSU Alumni & Constituent Relations

Phone: 620-235-4758    
Toll Free: 877-PSU-ALUM
Fax: 620-235-4949
Email: alumni@pittstate.edu

Return to PSU Alumni Homepage