Share page: 


Alpha Psi OmegaPittsburg State University is the Alpha Epsilon Theta Chapter of Alpha Psi Omega National Theatre Honor Society.

About Alpha Psi Omega

In 1921, at Fairmont State College in Fairmont, West Virginia, college theater took root. A faculty director was hired in 1923, and the Masquers were formed. The Masquers were charged with presenting a season of 4 to 5 major productions per year for students and the general public. In 1924, the Masquers began searching for a national honorary organization to join. As there was no truly national organization, Elinor B. Watson, Robert Sloan, and Fairmont faculty director Paul F. Opp researched forming such a national organization.

As a result of their research and work, a proposed national constitution was drawn up, and, on August 12, 1925, the first cast of Alpha Psi Omega members, drawn from the Masquers, was initiated. It was then decided that each chapter was to be called a, "cast," and Fairmont College became the Alpha Cast. Soon after, Marshall College in Huntington, West Virginia, expressed interest in chartering a cast of Alpha Psi Omega; they founded the Beta Cast. A member from Huntington suggested the name "Playbill" for the national magazine, which was thereafter adopted

Visit the Alpha Psi Omega National Theatre Honor Society website


Alpha Psi Omega crest

Meeting Information

Alpha Psi Omega meets every other Wednesday when school is in session from 5-6pm in the Studio Theatre, room 108 in Grubbs Hall.

Chapter Officers and Advisors

Dr. Cynthia Allan (contact)

Mailing Address & Contact Numbers

Alpha Psi Omega
Communication Department
Grubbs Hall Room 215
Pittsburg State University
1701 S. Broadway
Pittsburg, KS 66762

Phone: 620-235-4724
Fax: 620-235-4686

Contact Alpha Psi Omega

* is a required field