Share page: 

Student broadcasters win state awards

May 25, 2010 12:00AM

Student broadcasters from Pittsburg State University took home 10 awards, including five first-place awards, last week at the Kansas Association of Broadcasters' annual banquet in Wichita.

Students from Pittsburg State competed in a variety of broadcasting categories against students from other colleges and universities in the state of Kansas. Pittsburg State received five first-place awards, four second-place awards and one honorable mention award this year.

Troy Comeau, associate professor in communication, said the state competition is becoming more competitive each year.

"Kansas colleges and universities have some excellent broadcasting programs," Comeau said. "This year, nine different schools received a first place award. Kansas has one of the most competitive state competitions, in not only the number of entries, but in the quality of student productions."

In radio production, Trent Kling, a graduate student from Pittsburg, received a first-place award for his sports play-by-play, "Columbus vs. Louisburg Football." Second-place awards were earned by Pittsburg senior Danielle Snyder for her 30-second commercial, "Gunslingin' Ranch," and by Tracey Fienen, a junior from Independence, Kan., for her station Web site, "Gorilla Radio."

In television production, first-place winners were Aaron Stump, a junior from Jasper, Mo.; Adam Wilson, a senior from Liberal, Mo.; Dallas Cross, a senior from Olathe, Kan.; Leslie Haynes, a senior from Wichita, Kan.; Brandon Buck, a junior from Olathe, Kan.; Blake Gazaway, a senior from Nevada, Mo.; Josh Ferguson, a junior from Roeland Park, Kan.; Grant Ebbert, a sophomore from Tonganoxie, Kan.; Tyler Meyer, a junior from Tonganoxie, Kan.; Keith King, a senior from Fairway, Kan.; and Alex Freeman, a junior from Olathe, Kan., for their sports production work on "Pittsburg State vs. MSSU Football." Brock Lohr, a graduate student from Goodland, Kan.; Jacob Anselmi, a senior from Paola, Kan.; and Zach Howard, a graduate student from Pittsburg, Kan.; also took first place for their Complete Sports Feature, "Pittsburg State Football Recruiting Video 2009." Lohr and Anselmi took another first-place award for their Documentary, "Pitt State vs. Northwest Rivalry."

Second-place winners were Cross for her Station Promotion Announcement, "CAPS 13 Football," and Snyder and Ben Wimer, a sophomore from Overland Park, Kan.; for their Hard News Package, "Breast Cancer Vigil."

An Honorable Mention award went to Stump; Ferguson; Cross; Haynes; King; Freeman; Buck; Wilson; Ebbert; Gazaway; Aaron Loehr, a senior from Wichita, Kan.; Tyler Smith, a sophomore from Olathe, Kan.; and Jake Faber, a freshman from Overland Park, Kan.; for their work on "Pittsburg State vs. Emporia State football."

Kling also earned a first-place award for his research paper "Rejuvenation Denied."

For more information, contact Dr. Troy O. Comeau, at 620-235-4721

©2010 Pittsburg State University