

***** PSU / KNEA August 2019 e-Communicator *****

A Mr. Bulk-E message to all Faculty Appointed to KNEA Unit Positions

Dear Colleagues:

We hope that your summer went great!

Below we have included the information from the PSU-KNEA August 2019 Communicator just in case you were not able to obtain a hard copy last Thursday.

PSU-KNEA Annual Welcome Back (Complimentary for Faculty and their families)

The PSU/KNEA Annual Dinner is a chance for you to mingle with your colleagues from across campus while you enjoy a meal from Guadalajara Restaurant on us! Bring your colleagues, your significant others, and your children.

When: Thursday, September 5th, 2019

(We'll start at 5:30 p.m. and end at about 7:30 p.m.; come and go as you please.)

Where: Wilkinson Alumni Center Lower Level

RSVP to Randy Winzer (wwinzer@pittstate.edu or ext. 4370) as soon as possible. (There will be vegetarian and gluten free options from Guadalajara's, so please let Randy know what your preferences are.) You do not have to be a PSU/KNEA member to mingle or eat with us; we look forward to seeing you there!

Vote for Ratification

The PSU-KNEA Negotiating Team has reached a tentative agreement with the PSU Administration. We are putting the tentative agreement to a vote for ratification. You can access the ballot in GUS. The voting is open now and will conclude at noon on the 30th of August.

Why join PSU-KNEA?

PSU-KNEA members negotiate the raises that faculty receive each year, negotiate the faculty contract, and work to see that the rights of faculty are protected. PSU-KNEA is open to all faculty who are welcome to join to ensure their voice is heard and their interests are served. Dues are approximately \$32 per pay period for faculty on a 9-month contract. For more information, talk to an Executive Committee member or see the PSU-KNEA website https://www.pittstate.edu/office/provost/knea.

From the Desk of the President, August 6, 2019

The PSU-KNEA Negotiating Team and the administrative negotiating team have tentatively agreed to a 2.5% raise on our base. The agreement is pending ratification by PSU-KNEA and by the Board of Regents. The ratification vote for PSU-KNEA will occur soon. Stay tuned.

After Governor Kelly proposed a 2.5% raise for all state of Kansas employees and the Kansas House of Representatives voted in favor of the raise back in March, the PSU-KNEA Negotiating Team decided that whether or not the Senate approved 2.5%, we would forward that number to the PSU administrative negotiating team. The Kansas Senate then took away all of that in their budget proposal in March, but then the final approved budget in May allocated funds to Higher Education. Although the raise is not 3% target that I suggested at the beginning of our last academic year, the 2.5% is a move in the right direction to compensate for cost of living increases. I want to thank the Negotiating Team for all their work. The members this year were: Khamis Siam, Tim Thomas, Tim Bailey, Linden Dalecki, and Mark Johnson.

On different note, on July 18th I wrote to Kevin Bracker, our acting Faculty Senate President, to ask about how long the Senate wanted the PSU-KNEA President to speak in the Opening Meeting since historically the meeting had been run by Faculty Senate. He wrote back and told me that because of changes, that PSU-KNEA had not been included on the agenda. We met on Monday, July 29th, and that is when I found out that the Opening Meeting was no longer a Faculty Senate Meeting. I worried about censorship of faculty. The next day the entire campus received a message from Abby Fern that the meeting was no longer a Faculty Senate Meeting.

Since PSU-KNEA has addressed the audience in the Opening Meeting as long as anyone could remember, I set up an appointment with President Scott to inquire about it. On the day of our meeting (Monday, August 5th), right before we met, I noticed a message from Kevin that included an invitation to me so that the PSU-KNEA President could address the faculty at a General Faculty Senate Meeting, a meeting that would follow the Opening Meeting. When I met with President Scott, I mentioned that I was concerned that if the PSU-KNEA President did not stand before the audience at the Opening Meeting, it would be the first time since PSU-KNEA's inception and it might suggest to some that the administration was censoring faculty. When I returned from our meeting, I wrote to Kevin to accept his invitation to talk to the Faculty at the General Faculty Meeting.

Grant Moss, PSU-KNEA President 2019-2020

2019-2020 PSU-KNEA Executive Committee Meetings (They are open meetings)

August 13th, 2019, 3:45-4:55, KTC S113 September 10th, 2019, 3:45-4:55, OSC Kansas 3 October 8th, 2019, 3:45-4:55, KTC S113 November 12th, 2019, 3:45-4:55, OSC Kansas 3 December 10th, 2019, 3:45-4:55, KTC S113 January 28th, 2020, 3:45-4:55, OSC Kansas 3 February 11th, 2020, 3:45-4:55, KTC S113 March 10th, 2020, 3:45-4:55, OSC Kansas 3 April 14th, 2020, 3:45-4:55, KTC S113 May 5th, 2020, 3:45-4:55, OSC Kansas 3

Your 2019-2020 PSU-KNEA Executive Committee

A big thank you to all who were willing to serve!

2019-2020 PSU-KNEA President (1-year term) and Immediate Past President: Grant Moss

2019-2020 PSU-KNEA 1st Vice President (1-year term): Erik Mayer

2019-2020 PSU-KNEA 2nd Vice President (1-year term): Randy Winzer

2019-2020 PSU-KNEA Secretary (2-year term): Lori Martin

2019-2020 PSU-KNEA Interim Treasurer (1-year term): Susan Johns-Smith

2019-2020 PSU-KNEA Parliamentarian (1-year term): Phil Rudd

2019-2020 PSU-KNEA KNEA-RA & Southeast Unisery Council Delegates (1-year term): Marjorie Donovan,

Susan Carlson, Trina Larery, Browyn Conrad

2019-2020 PSU-KNEA NEA-RA Delegate (1-year term) Kyle Thompson

Bargaining Council (10 elected, 5 appointed)

Joey Pogue 2019-2021 Browyn Conrad 2019-2021 John Daley 2018-2020 Ronny Galloway 2018-2020 Kent Runyan 2019-2021 Don Judd 2018-2020 Mike Elder 2019-2021 Bill Shirley 2018-2020 Myriam Krepps 2018-2020 Laura Washburn 2019-2021

Grievance Committee (6 members, 3-year term, 2 per year)

Susan Johns-Smith 2019-2022 Browyn Conrad 2019-2022 Laura Washburn 2018-2021 Jamie Wood 2018-2021 Khamis Siam 2018-2021 Marti York 2017-2020

Membership Committee (3 members, 2-year term, even years)

Randy Winzer, Chair 2019-2020 Karen Johnson 2019-2020 Trina Larery 2019-2020 Ronny Galloway 2019-2020 Simple. Safe. Smart. You are receiving this email because you are a Pittsburg State University student, employee, or other University community member. If you have questions or concerns regarding the validity of this email, please contact the individual or department that sent this email.