GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES August 9, 2021 Zoom Meeting

In Attendance: Jason Clemensen, Mark Diacopoulos, Jennifer Harris, Ananda Jayawardhana, Anil Lal, Fang Lin, Elizabeth Mascher, Paul McCallum, Brian Sims, Ryan Speelman, Kyle Thompson

Voted via email: Shirley Drew, Kevin Elliott, Tatiana Goris, Rick Hardy, Michelle Hudiburg, Matthew Montague, Hermann Nonnenmacher, Theresa Presley, Santimukul Santra, Judy Smetana

Absent: Ronny Galloway, Howard Smith, Bobby Winters

The following were submitted for Graduate Faculty Recommendations:

Lydia Bechtel Edmonson Music

David Pearson Physics

Jennifer Richardson Teaching and Leadership

Dr. Jayawardhana moved to approve the Graduate Faculty recommendations as a group, Dr. Clemensen seconded and the motion carried.

The following were submitted for Graduate Service Recommendation(s):

Patricia Magee History, Philosophy and Social Sciences

21/WF

SWK 721 Foundation Social Work Practicum I SWK 722 Foundation Practicum Integrative

Seminar I

Dory Quinn History, Philosophy and Social Sciences

21/WF

SWK 785 Human Behavior

Jeremey Wolfe History, Philosophy and Social Sciences

21/WF

SWK 783 Fundamentals of Research in Social

Work 22/SP

SWK 765 Social Welfare Policy Analysis

Kelly Heiskell Psychology and Counseling

21/WF PSYCH 745 Introduction to Counseling and Psychotherapy

Dr. Speelman mentioned that four of the categories were completed on the tested experience document when only two are required for Kelly Heiskell. He shared that the executive committee agreed that the two categories that were most relevant are the license area and the documented excellence in teaching area.

Dr. Sims moved to approve the Graduate Service recommendations as a group, Dr. Mascher seconded and the motion carried with one email vote to not approve the recommendation for Patricia Magee.

Dr. Jayawardhana moved to request votes via email from those representatives not in attendance if there are not enough representatives present for a quorum. Dr. Lal seconded and the motion carried.

Dr. Lal moved to adjourn, Dr. Thompson seconded and the motion carried.

The next meeting will be Wednesday, September 8, 2021