The Twelfth Annual K-INBRE Student Research Symposium (2014)

The twelfth annual K-INBRE Symposium was held at the Downtown Kansas City Marriott Muehleback Tower Hotel in Kansas City, January 18-19, 2014. Attendees included twelve faculty (Drs. Peter Chung, David Gordon, Phil Harries, Mandy Peak, James McAfee, Charles Neef, Santimukul Santra, Neil Snow, Virginia Rider, Xiaolu Wu, Daniel Zurek, Irene Zegar); two administrators, Dr. Lynette Olson, Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs, Dr. Pawan Kahol, Dean of Graduate and Continuing Studies; and twenty-two students: Boya Abudu, Tayita Abudu, Anuradha Bhusri (graduate student), Jayden Bowen, Coleton Caldwell, Hannah DeVries, Trista Dugan, Tyler Egbert, Chris Hance, Trevor Harris, Blaze Heckert, Samanth Meneely (graduate student), Elias Mitchell, Kristi Neufeld, Austin Price, Tyler Shelby, Brady Steinbock, Emily Wilson, Josh Yeomans, Samanth Young and Christopher Ward. What a tremendous turnout. Click here for our group photo.

There were many excellent plenary talks. **Paul Trainor**, Professor at the Stowers Institute for Medical Research presented an excellent talk titled "Head and facial birth defects: Their origins and the potential for prevention". **Stuart Macdonald**, the K-INBRE Bioinformatics Director at the University of Kansas gave a talk titled "The genetic basis of complex trait variation: Insights from *Drosophila*. The poster sessions on Saturday afternoon were well attended. As usual, the food was delicious and the Muehleback Tower was a great venue for the Annual K-INBRE Symposium. This meeting is an opportunity for students to present their research and for students and faculty to network with other scientists across the State of Kansas. Taken together, the 12th Annual K-INBRE Symposium was an all-around success.

K-INBRE provides record number of awards to PittState students and faculty. (2014)

Dr. Jody Neff (Chemistry) and **Dr. Neil Snow** (Biology) received "start-up" packages to fund supplies and equipment necessary for undergraduate research projects in their laboratories. **Christopher Ward** (Dr. Peak, mentor) received the very prestigious "Star Trainee Award" to fund his undergraduate research over his senior year and to help pay for tuition for the first year at a graduate school of his choice. Five undergraduate students: **Boya Adubu** (Dr. Peak, mentor), **Trevor Harris** (Dr. Wu, mentor), **Austin Price** (Dr. Rider, mentor), **Josh Yeomans** (Dr. Harries, mentor) and **Samantha Young** (Dr. Gordon, mentor) received Summer Scholar Awards to conduct research over the summer. Congratulations to all.