The Ninth Annual K-INBRE Student Research Symposium (2011)

The ninth annual K-INBRE Symposium was held at the Intercontinental Hotel in Kansas City, MO from January 15-16, 2011. Attendees included seven faculty (Drs. Peter Chung, Phil Harries, Mandy Peak, James McAfee, Virginia Rider, Xiaolu Wu and Irene Zegar) accompanied by twenty students: Whitney Baldridge, Alissa Becknell, Brendan Coulter (graduate student), Sierra Foster, Emma Hayes (now a graduate student at UMKC), Elizabeth Kester, Kelsey Knisley, Joshua Kristalyn, Zachary Krumsick, Joshua Mayfield, Meagan Miller, Myron Perry, Amy Pervin, Haley Ruther, Brett Siegle, Alex Talbott (graduate student) Julie Ward (graduate student), Sarah Wolfe, Ryan Woodruff, and Guannan Xiao (graduate student).

Julie Ward gave on oral presentation titled "The differential regulation of calreticulin by 17-β estradiol in systemic lupus erythematosus T cells." **Brendan Coulter** presented a poster titled "The tomato bushy stunt virus movement protein binds to and disrupts actin filaments." presented a poster titled "Progesterone-dependent expression of wingless proteins in proliferating rat uterine stromal cell lines." Sierra Foster, Liz Kester, Alissa Becknell, Daniel Haines ,and Jenny Schnedler presented a poster titled "Identification of markers involved in tumorigenesis and macrophage resistance." Josh Kristalyn and Meagan Miller presented a poster titled "Investigation of the thermostability and DNA binding properties of a histone protein from the mesophilic arhaeal organism, Methanobrevibacter smithii." Brett Siegle presented a poster titled "Molecular interactions between RAG1 and the RSS required for V (D) J recombination." Alex Talbott, Zack Krumsick, and David Ramsey presented a poster titled "Regulation of wingless (WNT) signaling by female sex hormones in the rat uterus." Sarah Wolfe and Josh Mayfield presented a poster titled "Heterogeneous nuclear ribonucleoproteins of the C type are differentially expressed in some cancer cells." Ryan Woodruff and Kelsey Knisleyreported their research in a poster titled "Assessing the cytoskeletal requirements for tomato bushy stunt virus movement." Whitney Baldridge Myron Perry and Haley Ruther presented a poster titled "Establishment of a pseudotype virus system to screen inhibitors for avian influenza virus, H5N1." There were 111 posters presented at the meeting from all of the K-INBRE participants.

Highlights from the meeting included a fabulous turnout from PSU faculty and students. Dr. Joan Hunt, the Principle Investigator of the K-INBRE since its beginning, announced her retirement. She is the founder of K-INBRE and a champion for undergraduate research in the State of Kansas. Her retirement, though well deserved, will be noticed throughout the State. Doug Wright is the new Principle Investigator for the K-INBRE and we look forward to many more years of good science and research under his leadership. There were excellent presentations at the meeting and several of our students won awards for their posters. The food was first class, the fellowship superior and once again we returned to PSU with renewed vigor to conduct even better experiment to present at next year's meeting.