Share page: 

Outstanding Seniors - Holly Hrabik and Zachary Krumsick are PSU's 2012 Outstanding Seniors

Outstanding Seniors
My years at Pittsburg State taught me a lot about myself and what it means to be a leader."
~ Holly Hrabik, PSU Outstanding Senior

The rededication ceremony for Pittsburg State University’s Senior Walk was a very real reminder of what it means to be named PSU’s Outstanding Seniors for this year’s honorees, Holly Hrabik and Zachary Krumsick.

Hrabik and Krumsick join a long list of Pittsburg State alumni who showed outstanding leadership on campus and went on to distinguish themselves in life. Many of those former honorees were on campus May 8, for the dedication of a redesigned and reconstructed Senior Walk.

University officials said the placement of the walk, in front of Russ Hall, reflects the importance the university places on the development of students and their leadership skills.

Hrabik said her PSU experience allowed her to develop those skills in ways she couldn’t have imagined.

“My years at Pittsburg State taught me a lot about myself and what it means to be a leader,” she said.

Hrabik and Krumsick, both biology majors, will graduate this weekend and both plan to continue their education. Hrabik will enter graduate school in Texas, in the area of public health. She says she hopes eventually to work in community health programming and education for a non-profit organization.

Krumsick plans to spend 10 months as a medical missionary in Nairobi, Kenya, before returning to pursue his education in medical school.

At Pittsburg State, Hrabik and Krumsick served in a wide variety of leadership roles.

Hrabik’s leadership includes service as president of the Alpha Gamma Delta sorority, president of the Honors College Association and president of the Biology Club. She has participated in the Presidential Emerging Leaders Program, University Student Ambassadors, Crimson Club, Order of Omega, Omicron Delta Kappa, Lambda Sigma, and Phi Kappa Phi Honor Societies. She has been awarded honors and scholarships such as Presidential Scholarship Honors College, 2011 Outstanding Greek Woman of the Year and the Golden Gorilla Leadership Award. She has participated in a wide range of community service activities during her career at PSU.

Krumsick’s leadership spans numerous student organizations, including service as president of Lambda Sigma Honor Society, president of the Premed Club, and director of the PSU Premed Free Clinic.  He has participated in the Presidential Emerging Leaders Program, served as an SGA senator, as a University Student Ambassador, and was a member of the Crimson Club. He has received the Presidential Scholarship for Honors College, the Golden Gorilla Leadership Award, the Outstanding President Award for student organizations, and was named a Kansas Idea Network of Biomedical Research Excellence Scholar. He has been involved in significant numbers of service activities and has worked at a variety of medical service oriented roles while attending PSU.

Hrabik is the daughter of Brad and Leslie Hrabik of Olathe, Kan. Krumsick is the son of Kevin and Geri Krumsick of Pittsburg. Hrabik and Krumsick are both biology majors and both are also members of the PSU Honors College.

The selection process for the Outstanding Senior Awards begins with nominations from faculty, members of the unclassified staff and student organization presidents. Students who are nominated are asked to complete an application process that addresses their academic pursuits and GPA, organizational involvement at PSU, offices held in organizations, honors and scholarships, community service and volunteer work, and employment while attending PSU. Each nominee must also write a brief statement about his or her accomplishments as a student leader, their contributions to PSU and their plans following graduation.

A committee of faculty, staff and students evaluates the credentials and determines a list of finalists. The finalists are submitted for an advisory vote by faculty and members of the unclassified staff. The committee considers the finalists’ credentials in conjunction with the results of the advisory vote to determine the recipients.