Share page: 

PSU tops in Kansas for governance

December 06, 2012 12:00AM

AAUP Governance Award, L-R: Provost Lynette Olson; Dr. Ron Barrett, representing the AAUP; President Steven A. Scott; Dr. Peter Chung; and Dr. Ananda Jayawardhana

The Kansas Conference of the AAUP (American Association of University Professors) has selected Pittsburg State University as the first recipient of its Sound Governance Award.

According to Ronald Barrett-Gonzales, associate professor of aerospace engineering at the University of Kansas and president-elect of the State of Kansas Conference of the AAUP, the award was given based on scores PSU received in a recent “Indicators of Sound Governance” survey.

The survey was sent to faculty members at Kansas Regents universities and assessed more than 40 metrics. PSU not only scored the highest on the survey but also received the highest percentage of positive remarks.

PSU President Steve Scott said he was pleased that the university received high marks in the survey.

“We have great faculty and staff who care deeply about this institution and its students,” said PSU President Steve Scott. “The results of this survey are validation of our efforts to support shared governance on our campus as well as our commitment to clear and continual communication with all of the people who make Pittsburg State University a great place to work and to learn.”

©2012 Pittsburg State University