Share page: 

"Tool Time" performers steal the show at TECA conference

April 10, 2009 12:00AM

A group of PSU students enjoy the limelight after entertaining an audience with their "Tool Time" skit at the International Technology Education Association conference in Louisville, Ky.

A group of Pittsburg State University students drew hundreds of attendees for their performance of a “Tool Time” skit at the International Technology Education Association (ITEA) conference held last week in Louisville, Ky., and have been invited for a repeat performance at a conference next spring.

“The show was such a success that ITEA has asked the group to present again at the Charlotte, North Carolina conference,” said Andy Klenke, assistant professor of technology studies at PSU.

The show, held March 27, showcased a variety of new tools, equipment and projects that can be used in the technology classroom. The students gave away $1,000 worth of tools at the end of the skit, donated by PSU partners.

Students Colin Sutter, a senior from Arma, Kan., and Hannah Burdette, a senior from Grenola, Kan., starred as Tim "The Tool Man" Taylor and Heidi, respectively, with PSU graduate Ryan Miller joining them as Tim’s longsuffering sidekick, Al Borland. Fourteen other PSU students participated in a musical number using only tools as instruments.

The students’ presentation, attended by more than 300 people, was chosen to cap off the conference.  

But the conference wasn’t all fun and games. Six national Technology Education Collegiate Association-sponsored competitions were also held, and PSU students fared well, placing in four:

·         Wade Church, a senior from Kansas City, Kan., took first place in the Teaching Lesson competition, in which students prepared and presented a specific lesson topic.

·         The PSU Robotics team, consisting of Church; Sutter; Caleb Galemore, a senior from Chanute, Kan.; Miles Owen, a sophomore from Stilwell, Kan.; Dave Pfortmiller, a sophomore from Olathe, Kan.; and Sam Oram, a senior from Greeley, Kan.; placed second in the Robotics competition, which was the first such contest in which PSU had competed.

·         The Transportation Challenge Team, consisting of Chris Swartz, a senior from Pittsburg; Melissa Horne, a senior from Richmond, Kan.; Laurel Spriggs, a senior from Galena, Kan.; and Greg Rawlings, a senior from Lenexa, Kan.; earned fourth place. Also taking fourth was the Communication Challenge Team, consisting of Stephan Brumbaugh, a junior from Frontenac, Kan.; Spriggs; Horne; and Swartz.

Burdette and Brumbaugh just finished serving one-year terms as the International TECA president and vice-president, respectively. This year, Brumbaugh will serve the organization as reporter.

PSU faculty are also participating with the organization. Mike Neden and Andy Klenke, professors in technology studies, have been elected to the ITEA board of directors. Neden will serve as Region 3 director, and Klenke will serve as TECA director.

For more information, contact the Department of Technology Studies at 620-235-4371.

---Pitt State---

©2009 Pittsburg State University