Share page: 

Construction Alumni Association grants more than $30,000 in scholarships

November 18, 2008 12:00AM

The Pittsburg State University Construction Alumni Association is lending a helping hand to dozens of current construction students with a donation of $30,750 in scholarships.

Thirty-five construction students, selected through an interview process conducted by a panel of construction alumni during homecoming, will receive scholarships for the 2009-10 school year. The following is a list of the students who were chosen to receive scholarships:

Daniel Beamer - Wichita, Kan.

Mike Betsworth - Wichita, Kan.

Silas Bloesser - Uniontown, Kan.

Ethan Buche - Girard, Kan.

Nathan Buntin - Erie, Kan.

Andres Castaneda - Frontenac, Kan.

Rebekah Dallman - Pittsburg, Kan.

Adam Deeds - Little River, Kan.

David Derakhshanian - Kansas City, Mo.

Logan Harris - Jerico Springs, Mo.

Keatin Herder - Iola, Kan.

Derek Jackson - Council Grove, Kan.

Jeremy Kaufman - Newton, Kan.

Jim King - Great Bend, Kan.

Jacob Knight - Erie, Kan.

Sara Kratzberg - Greeley, Kan.

Brian Kuhn - Hays, Kan.

Lucas Lackey - Seneca, Kan.

Michael Lee - Mission, Kan.

Eric Love - Cozad, Neb.

Aaren Marsh - Bartlesville, Okla.

William Michels - Overland Park, Kan.

Andrew Molgren - Newton, Kan.

Erin O'Brien - St. Paul, Kan.

Kyle Pinkley - Cheney, Kan.

Dean Shackley - Olathe, Kan.

Nick Shumate - Overland Park, Kan.

Brandon Smith - Copan, Okla.

Lindsey Strenth - Pittsburg, Kan.

Kelly Tetrick - El Dorado, Kan.

Joshua Valenti - Joplin, Mo.

Chris Vanlerberg - Roeland Park, Kan.

Anthony Weber - Halstead, Kan.

Kayleigh Williams - Columbus, Kan.

Alan Youngers - Viola, Kan.

The Construction Alumni Association raised the funds through the three fundraiser golf tournaments - one in Wichita, one in Kansas City and one in Pittsburg - that it holds every year. Since its inception in 1988, the group has raised over $325,000 to support PSU construction programs through scholarships, an endowment and faculty support.

The selection committee for the 2009 scholarships included Mike Holman (Lithko Contracting), Joe and Dennis Cisper (Je Dunn Construction), Larry Weis (Martin K. Eby Construction), Pat Mirocke (Walton Construction), Scott Casebolt (Key Construction), and James Otter, chair of engineering technology at PSU.

For more information on construction programs at PSU, contact the Department of Engineering Technology at (620) 235-4350.

---Pitt State---

©2008 Pittsburg State University