The Institutional Effectiveness Committee will provide ongoing planning data and information that relates to (1) the assessment of academic departments and the learning environment, (2) the assessment of administrative units (academic support units and institutional support units) and their role in supporting the academic mission of the university (almost all of the administrative units conduct annual planning activities), and (3) the strategic direction of all units on campus.  These distinct organizational units, with different functions and outcomes, are coordinated through this process.  

This committee will provide that coordination and will also provide the process for grassroots planning coupled with institutional assessment that has served Pittsburg State University since 1984. Most of these activities are already in place and functioning.

The Institutional Effectiveness Committee will be chaired by a faculty member. Other members of this committee include five faculty members (one from each college and one from Library Services), five department chairs (one from each college except for Arts and Sciences which will have two), one dean, one member from Administration and Finance, one representative from Campus Life and Auxiliary Services, one representative from Enrollment Management and Student Success, the Director of Analysis, Planning and Assessment, one member from Advancement, and one member from Intercollegiate Athletics.

The Institutional Effectiveness Committee will meet regularly.  The Director of Analysis, Planning and Assessment will prepare the annual report (April 1st of each year).  The annual report will be presented to the President, the Vice Presidents, the deans, and other members of the University community.  The annual report will also be presented to the University Strategic Planning Council along with recommendations for issues to consider that affect strategic planning at the university.

Unit review and assessment documents will include the following eight sections:

1.  Unit Mission
2.  Unit Vision
3.  Unit Linkage to Academic Mission
4.  Goals
5.  Alignment of Goal to University Goals
6.  Objectives
7.  Strategies
8.  Performance Measurements

The assessment process and report demonstrates that assessment information is being actively used to improve institutional effectiveness.

Contact Institutional Effectiveness Committee Members

David Adams

dadams@pittstate.edu
Bienvenido Cortes bcortes@pittstate.edu
Steve Duvall sduvall@pittstate.edu
Wanda Endicott wendicot@pittstate.edu
Ronny Galloway rgallowa@pittstate.edu
David Hurford dhurford@pittstate.edu
Missi Kelly mlindsay@pittstate.edu
Jan Smith (Committee Chair) jsmith@pittstate.edu
Kim Little kflittle@pittstate.edu
Paul McCallum pmccallu@pittstate.edu
Celia Patterson cpatters@pittstate.edu
Randy Roberts rerobert@pittstate.edu
Melinda Roelfs maroelfs@pittstate.edu
Wei Sha wsha@pittstate.edu
Rhona Shand rshand@pittstate.edu
Howard Smith smith@pittstate.edu
Tim Thomas tthomas@pittstate.edu