Benefits for Active Employees
Workers compensation is an insurance plan provided by Pittsburg State University to pay certain benefits to employees who are injured on the job. All classified and unclassified employees, graduate assistants and student employees are covered by workers compensation insurance.
The Division of Workers Compensation, Kansas Department of Labor, administers the Workers Compensation Act. Claims for workers compensation are processed by State Self-Insurance (SSI). Payment of medical benefits and weekly compensation benefits may be provided to employees injured on the job.
Complete information can be found on the Worker Compensation poster found on the HRS home page Bulletin Board.
If An Accident Occurs
If you are injured at work, immediately notify your supervisor and seek medical treatment if needed. Prior to seeking medical treatment complete and print off the First Fill Letter. If medication is prescribed to treat the injury The First Fill Letter should be given to the participating pharmacy with the prescription(s). The First Fill letter is only good for 24 hours after receipt and only for the first prescription(s) following the injury.
PSU Employees working in the Pittsburg area:
- Minor/Non-life-threatening injuries would be seen at the Student Health Clinic.
- Serious/Life-threatening injuries would be seen at the Emergency Department at Mt. Carmel Regional Medical Center.
- Incidents that would occur after hours or weekends would be treated at the Emergency Department at Mt. Carmel Regional Medical Center if immediate care is required.
PSU Employees working in the Kansas City area:
- Employees must receive medical treatment for work-related accidents at KU Medical Center.
You will be excused from work without loss of pay or accrued leave in order to obtain medical treatment on the day of the accident or injury. Additionally, you will also be excused from work without loss of pay or accrued leave to obtain further medical treatment related to the injury. You must, however, limit absences from work to the time required to receive medical attention only. You may also be required to furnish satisfactory proof of having received medical treatment.
Within 5 days of the accident, you must complete an Incident Report and give it to your supervisor. Your supervisor will sign the Incident Report and give you a copy.
You must complete the Incident Report even if you do not miss work or seek medical treatment! If you do not complete the report within 5 days of the incident, you could be denied workers compensation benefits. Immediately notify your supervisor if you miss work or seek medical treatment at a later date.
Claims for workers compensation are processed by State Self-Insurance (SSI). Information provided by State-Self Insurance is available from HRS. It is important that you keep your supervisor informed if you miss work or seek medical help because of a job injury. You and your supervisor will play important roles in returning you to work as soon as possible.
State Self-Insurance Fund
Room 900-N, Landon State Office Building
900 SW Jackson Street
Topeka, KS 66612
Division of Workers Compensation
Kansas Department of Labor
800 SW Jackson Street, Suite 600
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227
800-332-0353 or (785) 296-2996