split face logo
Human Resources Services
Share page: 

Employee Benefits
Benefits for Active Employees
Holidays
2012 Holiday Schedule & General Information
(updated 9/12/2012)


2012 Holiday Schedule

New Year's Day Monday, January 2, 2012
Martin Luther King Day Monday, January 16, 2012
Memorial Day Monday, May 28, 2012
Independence Day Wednesday, July 4, 2012
Labor Day Monday, September 3, 2012
Veteran's Day Monday, November 12, 2012
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 22, 2012
Friday, November 23, 2012
Christmas Eve Monday, December 24, 2012
Christmas Tuesday, December 25, 2012
Discretionary Day*

*The discretionary day is for observance of a holiday or other special day during calendar year 2012.  It must be used during pay periods beginning December 25, 2011 through December 22, 2012.  Employee who work a Monday through Friday schedule should plan to use their 2012 discretionary day by December 21, 2012.

 

General Information

Except for Veteran's Day, all University offices will be closed on designated holidays.  Classified and Unclassified Employees will be compensated for the holidays as noted below.

When one of the holidays fall on a Saturday, the preceding Friday shall be the officially observed holiday.  When one of these legal holidays falls on a Sunday, the following Monday shall be the officially observed holiday.

The Governor may designate additional days on which state offices are to be closed in observance of a holiday or a holiday season.  Any such day will be treated as a legal holiday.  The Governor may also designate a discretionary holiday which an eligible employee may use for observing a holiday or other special day.

Nine-month faculty and temporary classified employees are not eligible for the discretionary day.

 

Click here for more information on reporting time worked and leave taken.