Pittsburg State University Grants Awarded

A Comparison of Microbial Communities in Natural and Restored Wetlands Utilizing PCR-DGGE Analysis
Society of Wetland Scientists
Dr. Joe Arruda and Mr. Kenneth Gouvion, Biology: jarruda@pittstate.edu

Alternative Foams and Encapsulants
Honeywell
Dr. Andy Myers, Kansas Polymer Research Center: amyers@pittstate.edu

Collaborative Research: Cosmic Magnetic Fields: Origin, Evolution and Signatures
Carnegie-Mellon University and National Science Foundation
Dr. Alex Konopelko, Physics: akonopel@pittstate.edu

Development of Applications for Polymerized Soybean Oil
United Soybean Board
Dr. Zoran Petrovic, Kansas Polymer Research Center: zpetrovic@pittstate.edu

Direct Conversion of Bio-based Materials to New Products
U.S. Department of Agriculture (CSREES)
Dr. Zoran Petrovic, Kansas Polymer Research Center: zpetrovi@pittstate.edu

Endocrine Control of Pattern Formation in the Rat Uterus
Kansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence
Dr. Virginia Rider and Ms. Sierra Foster, Biology: vrider@pittstate.edu

Engineering Technology S-STEM Scholarship Program
National Science Foundation
Mr. Randy Winzer, Engineering Technology: rwinzer@pittstate.edu

Estrogen & Gender Biased Autoimmunity
National Institute of Health
Dr. Virginia Rider, Biology: vrider@pittstate.edu

Grant to Expand Care Coordination Through the Use of Health Information Technology
Kansas University and Health and Human Services
Mr. J.T. Knoll, Student Prevention and Wellness: jknoll@pittstate.edu

Hybrid/Future Power Curriculum Package

National Science Foundation
Mr. Trent Lindbloom, Automotive Technology:  tjlindbl@pittstate.edu

Imaging Tomato Bushy Stunt Virus Localization and Dynamics in Infected Cells
Kansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence
Dr. Phillip Harries and Mr. Ryan Woodruff, Dept. of Biology: pharries@pittstate.edu

KAN-ED
Kansas Board of Regents
Dr. Brenda Frieden, Center for Teaching, Learning and Technology: bfrieden@pittstate.edu

Kansas Biobased Polymer Initiative
MPG Ingredients and  United States Department of Agriculture
Dr. Zoran Petrovic, Kansas Polymer Research Center: zpetrovic@pittstate.edu

Kansas Bioplastics Commercialization Collaborative
MPG Ingredients
Dr. Zoran Petrovic, Kansas Polymer Research Center: zpetrovic@pittstate.edu

Kansas Bioprocessing Science and Engineering Center
Kansas State University and National science Foundation
Dr. Andy Myers, Kansas Polymer Research Center: amyers@pittstate.edu

Kansas Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant
Kansas State Energy Office
Mr. John Patterson, Administration: jpatterson@pittstate.edu

Kansas Space Grant
National Aeronautic Space Administration Kansas Space Grant Consortium
Dr. Jim Lookadoo, Engineering Technology: lookadoo@pittstate.edu

KSDE Scaling-Up Technical Assistance, Coordination, and Evaluation
Kansas State Department of Education- U.S. Department of Education
Dr. Alice Sagehorn, Department of Teaching and Leadership:  asagehor@pittstate.edu

Molecular Interactions Between RAG1 and the RSS
Kansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence
Dr. Mandy Peak and Mr. Chris Ward, Dept. of Biology: mpeak@pittstate.edu

Physical Science Modeling with Mathematics
Ft. Hays State University and Kansas Board of Regents
Dr. Alex Konopelko, Physics: akonopel@pittstate.edu

Polymers From Corn Oils
U.S. Department of Agriculture (CSREES)
Dr. Zoran Petrovic, Kansas Polymer Research Center: zpetrovi@pittstate.edu

PSU Advanced Education Nursing Traineeships
Health Resources and Services Administration
Dr. Cheryl Giefer, Nursing:  cgiefer@pittstate.edu

RT-qPCR Analysis of Putative Genes in Tumorigenesis and Macrophage Resistance
Kansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence
Dr. Peter Chung and Ms. Sara Verga, Biology: pchung@pittstate.edu

Scholarships for Disadvantaged Students
Health Resources and Services Administration
Dr. Cheryl Giefer, Nursing:  cgiefer@pittstate.edu

Screening Algal Strains for Potential Use in Carbon Sequestration
Center for Applied Energy Research at the University of Kentucky
Dr. James Dawson, Biology Department:  jdawson@pittstate.edu

Screening Compound Libraries for Effective Inhibitors of Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza Virus, H5N1
Kansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence
Dr. Xiaolu Wu and Mr. Bradley Aubin, Biology: xwu55@yahoo.com

Smart Start Evaluation
Family Resource Center and Kansas Children’s Cabinet and Trust Fund
Dr. Duane Whitbeck, Family and Consumer Science: dwhitbeck@pittstate.edu

Soy-based Polyester Polyols for Flexible Polyeurethane Foams and Elastomers
Kansas Soybean Commission
Dr. Mihail Ionescu, Kansas Polymer Research Center: mionescu@pittstate.edu

Soybean Oil-based Polyurethanes by Non-Isocyanate
United Soybean Board
Dr. Ivan Javni, Kansas Polymer Research Center: ijavni@pittstate.edu

Tilt-Up Concrete Construction Training and National Certification
Kansas Department of Commerce
Mr. Jim Otter, Construction Management and Construction E.T.: otter@pittstate.edu

Transition to Teaching
KNOTT-Wichita State University- U.S. Department of Education
Dr. Alice Sagehorn, Dept. of Teaching and Leadership: asagehor@pittstate.edu

Truancy Diversion Program
Kansas Social Rehabilitation Services & Annie Casey Foundation
Dr. Natalie Stipanovic, Psychology and Counseling: truancy-l@pittstate.edu

Use of glycerin for high value polymeric Products- continuation
United Soybean Board
Dr. Ivan Javni, Kansas Polymer Research Center: ijavni@pittstate.edu