Share page: 

PSU announces Honors College selections

Pittsburg State University has announced the selection of 36 students for its 2012 Fall Honors College freshman class.

Pittsburg State University has announced the selection of 36 students for the 2012 Fall Honors College freshman class.

“This is an exciting group of young men and women,” said Dr. Craig Fuchs, director of the Honors College. “They are not only outstanding scholars, they are also outstanding people. We expect great things from them during their Pitt State careers.”

The PSU Honors College was established to attract and retain high-achieving students to the campus and to provide them with an educationally enriched university experience. Application to the Honors College is open to incoming freshmen with an ACT composite score of 28 or higher. They must have completed a pre-college curriculum and have a high school GPA of 3.5 or higher.

Students selected for the Honors College are eligible to receive scholarship assistance ranging from $2,200 a year for Crimson and Gold members to $9,500 a year for the Presidential Award. Presidential and University Award recipients are also eligible to receive a one-time, $2,000 study abroad stipend.

This year’s Honors College freshman class and their hometowns:

Laura Allgood, Riverton, Kan.

Amie Beggs, Moran, Kan.

Jayden Bowen, Colony, Kan.

Breanna Bowzer, Olathe, Kan.

Tyler Breedlove, LaCygne, Kan.

Grace Brown, LaCygne, Kan.

Ryan Callahan, Olathe, Kan.

Abbey Chaloupka, Liberty, Mo.

Garrett Eckols, Hill City, Kan.

Tyler Elmore, Columbus, Kan.

Rachel Evans, Olathe, Kan.

Michelle Forbes, Neosho, Mo.

Catherine Gieger, Pittsburg, Kan.

Heather Jensen, Lenexa, Kan.

Mara Knight, Fredonia, Kan.

Adam Lang, Shawnee, Kan.

Lindsey Lockhart, Salina, Kan.

Rachel McKinzie, Pleasant Hill, Mo.

Rikki Miller, Raymore, Mo.

Michael Muoghalu, Pittsburg, Kan.

Mary Nance, Pittsburg, Kan.

Logan Napier, Columbus, Kan.

Sarah Nelson, Caney, Kan.

Maria Newmaster, Olathe, Kan.

Danielle Newton, Linn Valley, Kan.

Sarah Nistler, Herington, Kan.

Kristen Schatzman, Rogers, Ark.

Jeremy Setter, Humboldt, Kan.

Tyler Shelby, Iola, Kan.

Wyatt Smith, Garden City, Kan.

Emily Sommer, Baldwin, Kan.

Kanon Steen, Bentonville, Ark.

Aubrey Stewart, Olathe, Kan.

Shelby White, Scammon, Kan.

Ashley Willis, Pittsburg, Kan.

Joshua Yeomans, Kansas City, Mo.

For more on the PSU Honors College, call 620-235-4176 or visit the Honors College website at

Share this story

heading image heading image heading image