split face logo
Department of History, Philosophy, and Social Sciences
Share page: 

History, Philosophy, and Social Sciences Contact

Department Chair:

Donald W. Viney

* is a required field

Contact Person:
Nancy Grantham

* is a required field

Phone: 620-235-4325
Fax: 620-235-4338

Address:
Department of History, Philosophy, and Social Sciences
412 Russ Hall
Pittsburg State University
1701 South Broadway
Pittsburg KS 66762

 History, Philosophy, and Social Sciences Undergraduate Programs

As an integral part of Pittsburg State University's College of Arts and Sciences, the department prepares enlightened, responsible citizens who are capable of contributing significantly to the communities in which they settle and to our society as a whole.  Not only does the department provide a significant portion of the university's general education program, its programs include traditional liberal arts, professional, and pre-professional curricula. The department has undergraduate majors and/or minors in:

Geography (Major/Minor) History (Major/Minor)
History and Government (BSE/Major) Justice Studies (Major/Minor)
Multicultural Studies (Minor) Philosophy (Minor)
Political Science (Major/Minor)           Social Work (Major)
Sociology (Major/Minor)

Educating as well as training, department programs equip graduates not only to pursue rewarding careers but also cultivate student capacity for critical thought, moral reflection, and active citizenship. As for careers, our graduates secure employment in a wide range of occupations and many elect to go to graduate or professional schools. Examples of professional/graduate degrees and careers are below:

Degrees Pursued
Master of Social Work
Master of Public Administration
Juris Doctor (law school)
Master of Criminal Justice
Master of Arts in History
Master of Teaching
Doctor of Philosophy
Careers
Probation and Parole
Hospital Case Manager
City Planning, GIS Specialist
Social and Health Services
Law Enforcement
High School Teaching
Social Work Practice

Contact information below. You can also link to the individual contact or program.
Program Directors
International Studies Dr. Paul W. Zagorski 620.235.4337 zagorski@pittstate.edu RH 412H
Social Work Dr. Brad Cameron 620.235.4331 bcameron@pittstate.edu RH 327A
Women's Studies Dr. Browyn Conrad 620.235.4333 browyn@pittstate.edu RH 316
Program Coordinators
Geography Dr. Catherine A. Hooey 620.235.4327 chooey@pittstate.edu RH 322
Graduate Program, M.A. History
Dr. Jonathan R. Dresner 620.235.4315 jdresner@pittstate.edu RH 406F
History,
History and Government Education

Dr. Kelly A. Woestman 620.235.4316 woestman@pittstate.edu RH 406C
Justice Studies Dr. Kathleen Cameron 620.235.4320 kcameron@pittstate.edu RH 327B
Multicultural Studies Dr. Harry L. Humphries 620.235.4328 hlhumphr@pittsate.edu RH 317
Philosophy Dr. Donald W. Viney 620.235.4326 dviney@pittstate.edu RH 412G
Political Science Dr. Paul W. Zagorski 620.235.4337 zagorski@pittstate.edu RH 412H
Sociology Dr. Marjorie Donovan 620.235.4335 mdonovan@pittstate.edu RH 412D