split face logo
Department of History, Philosophy, and Social Sciences
Share page: 

History, Philosophy, and Social Sciences Contact

Department Chair:

Donald W. Viney

* is a required field

Contact Person:
Nancy Grantham

* is a required field

Phone: 620-235-4325
Fax: 620-235-4338

Address:
Department of History, Philosophy, and Social Sciences
412 Russ Hall
Pittsburg State University
1701 South Broadway
Pittsburg KS 66762

 The History Program at Pittsburg State University

Chair
Donald W. Viney 620.235.4326 dviney@pittstate.edu Russ 412G
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma, 1982. Specializations: Process Philosophy and Charles Hartshorne, Philosophy and Religion, Logic and Critical Thinking
  
Faculty
John L.S. Daley 620.235.4311 jdaley@pittstate.edu RH 306E
Ph.D., Kent State University. Specializations: U.S. Military, Middle Period and Civil War, U.S. Immigration and Modern Germany.
Jonathan F. Dresner 620.235.4315 jdresner@pittstate.edu RH 406F
Graduate Coordinator (M.A., History). Ph.D., Harvard University. Specializations: 19th Century Japan, East Asia, Migration, Social, World.
Stephen A. Harmon 620.235.4314 sharmon@pittstate.edu RH 406B
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles. Specializations: Africa, Middle East, Islam and Latin America.
Kirstin L. Lawson 620.235.4319 klawson@pittstate.edu RH 406E
Ph.D., University of Missouri. Specializations: Gilded Age and Progressive Era, Women in History, Health and Health Care, Theory and Practice
James B. M. Schick 620.235.4318 jschick@pittstate.edu RH 306C
Ph.D., Indiana University. Specializations: Pre-Columbian, Colonial/Revolutionary America, Contemporary U.S.; (Editor, Midwest Quarterly)
Michael Kyle Thompson 620.235.4318 mkthompson@pittstate.edu RH 301
Ph.D., University of Edinburgh. Specializations: European and World History.
Kelly A. Woestman 620.235.4316 woestman@pittstate.edu RH 406C
Ph.D., University of North Texas. Specializations: 20th Century U.S., U.S. Diplomatic, Oral, Local, Borderlands, Teacher Education
  
Administrative Staff
Nancy Grantham 620.235.4325 ngrantha@pittstate.edu Russ 412
Administrative Specialist
  
Emeritus Faculty
Martin Campion Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Minnesota. Specializations: Military History, Historical Simulations
Kathleen G. Fisher Instructor Emeritus
M.A., Pittsburg State University. Specializations: Late 19th Century, U.S. Social, Early American Republic, U.S. Women, Research Methods
Surenda K. Gupta  
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma. Specializations: Cold War Diplomatic, India-Soviet Relations, Warsaw Pact
Robert K. Ratzlaff ProfessorEmeritus
Ph.D., University of Kansas. Specializations: Jacksonian America, Antebellum South and Kansas.
Thomas R. Walther Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma. Specializations: 19th Century U.S., American Economic, American West, Kansas and Native American.