• Homect_img
  • K-INBRE at PittState Biology
Share page: 



Kansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence
at Pittsburg State University


Pittsburg State faculty and students are involved in a federally-funded effort to enhance biomedical research and training. This web site describes the activities of the program on this campus.

The National Center for Research Resources (NCRR) in the National Institutes of Health (NIH) provides Institutional Development Awards (IDeA) to foster research within states that traditionally have not received significant levels of competitive funding from the NIH. One of the approaches of the IDeA Program and the source of support on this campus was the Biomedical Research Infrastructure Networks (BRIN) now referred to as the Kansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (K-INBRE).

The objectives of K-INBRE are to:

  • bring together institutions within a state to establish a network,
  • provide competitive funding to the state-based network,
  • support institutional alterations and renovations,
  • provide funding for modern laboratory equipment, and
  • assist in the recruitment of new faculty.

K-INBRE funding is also intended to strengthen the basic science departments of the undergraduate institutions in the network by involving students in research. The undergraduate institutions also serve an important "feeder" role to the science departments of graduate schools within the IDeA-eligible areas.

The lead campus for K-INBRE is the University of Kansas Medical Center. Participants in Kansas K-INBRE in addition to Pittsburg State University are Emporia State University, Forth Hays State University, Haskell Indian Nation University, Kansas State University, University of Kansas, Lawrence, Washburn University, and Wichita State University.

2014 Conference Attendees

PittState K-INBRE attendees from Biology and Chemistry at the 2014 Conference

Row 1 (front) L-R: Grace Anderson, Samantha Meneely, Dan Zurek, Samantha Young, Anuradha Bhusri, Mandy Peak, Santimukul Santra, Irene Zegar. 

Row 2 L-R: Hannah DeVries, Peter Chung, Jody Neef, Tyler Egbert, Jayden Bowen, Josh Yeomans Trista Dugan, Lynette Olson, Virginia Rider, Neil Snow. 

Row 3 L-R: Kristi Neufeld, Boya Abudu, Chris Hance, Phil Harries, Maria Newmaster, Tayita Abudu, Coleton Caldwell, James McAfee. 

Row 4 L-R: Tyler Shelby, Dave Gordon, Blaze Heckert Christopher Ward, Matthew Reddick, Eli Mitchell.


Campus Representative (and Faculty Mentor)

  • Dr. Virginia Rider, Biology [phone: 620.235.4739 / fax: 620.235.4194 / Contact]

Faculty Mentors

  • Dr. Peter Chung, Biology [phone: 620.235.4736 / fax: 620.235.4194 / Contact]
  • Dr. David M. Gordon, Biology [phone: 620.235.4735 / fax: 620.235.4194 / Contact]
  • Dr. Phillip Harries, Biology [phone: 620.235.4864 / fax: 620.235.4194 / Contact]
  • Dr. James McAfee, Chemistry [phone: 620.235.4750 / Contact]
  • Dr. Jody Neef, Chemistry [phone: 620.235.4494 / Contact]
  • Dr. Mandy Peak Bryan, Biology [phone: 620.235.4744 / fax: 620.235.4194 / Contact]
  • Dr. Santimukul Santra, Chemistry [phone: 620.235.4861 / Contact]
  • Dr. Neil Snow, Biology [phone: 620.235.4424 / fax: 620.235.4194 / Contact]
  • Dr. Xiaolu Wu, Biology [phone: 620.235.4733 / fax: 620.235.4194 / Contact]
  • Dr. Irene Zegar, Chemistry [phone: 620.235.4903 / Contact]
  • Dr. Daniel Zurek, Biology [phone: 620.235.4746 / fax: 620.235.4194 / Contact]

Mailing Address:

Department of Biology [or Department of Chemistry]
Pittsburg State University
1701 S. Broadway
Pittsburg, KS 6676