split face logo
Accounting and Computer Information Systems
Share page: 

Accounting Career Opportunities

graduationThe Department of Accounting offers degree programs leading to exciting and rewarding careers in public accounting, industry, government, and not-for-profit organizations.

The Department of Accounting considers placement of its graduates to be a primary part of our mission. However, placement of our majors is a shared responsibility of each student, the Department of Accounting, and the PSU Career Services Office.

Responsibilities of the Department

adThe Department prepares our majors for a job search by educating them about resumes, the interviewing process, and various careers in the accounting profession. The Department also cultivates relations with prospective employers and serves as a clearinghouse to help match prospective employers with our students for internships or full-time employment.

In September, the Department hosts its Annual Meet-the-Firms Day, a career fair exclusively for students affiliated with the Department of Accounting.

Responsibilities of the Accounting Major

All students in our degree programs are representatives of the Department of Accounting. Each has a responsibility to prepare thoroughly for interviews, dress appropriately, and conduct themselves in a professional manner. Accounting students should prepare a resume no later than the beginning of their senior year, utilize the mock interviewing service provided by the Career Services Office, and thoroughly research the position and company before their interview. If the employer offers an informational session prior to the interview, attend it. Appropriate interview dress for a male is a dark, conservative suit with a white or navy shirt and a conservative neck tie; for a female, a conservative business suit would be appropriate. Professional behavior in the job search process includes arriving at least 10 minutes early for the interview, promptly sending the interviewer a thank you after the interview, returning interviewer calls promptly, and carefully considering an offer before accepting it. Once you have accepted a position you should notify all other prospective employers that you are no longer in the job market. In no case should a student from the  Department of Accounting accept a position but continue to interview for other positions.

Responsibilities of the Career Services Office

The PSU Career Services Office will assist with resume preparation, provide a mock interview upon request, coordinate on-campus interviews for internships and full-time employment, and refer resumes to prospective employers. To participate in on-campus interviews or to have your resume referred students MUST be registered with the Career Services Office http://www.pittstate.edu/car. Career Services will help you prepare your resume after which it will be uploaded into their electronic database. You may update your resume as frequently as you like thereafter. All Department of Accounting majors are strongly encouraged to register no later than the beginning of their senior year.

Registering with the Career Services Office has several important benefits for students. First, it makes it possible for you to participate in on-campus interviews. Second, it allows the Office to make electronic referrals of your resume. Each year Career Services refers more than 2,500 College of Business resumes to prospective employers that do not interview on campus. Third, registration with the Office allows prospective employers to review your resume from the convenience of their office. 

Partial List of Employers

Graduates of the Department of Accounting are employed by a variety of firms. Accounting majors are encouraged to research the following companies to learn more about the career opportunities available in our profession.

Government

Federal Government Jobs http://usajobs.gov
State of Kansas Jobs https://www.kansasworks.com
State of Missouri Jobs http://www.mo.gov/working-in-missouri/job-seekers-employers/
State of Oklahoma Jobs http://www.ok.gov/opm/State_Jobs/
State of Arkansas Jobs https://www.ark.org/arstatejobs/index.php
City goverment Jobs http://www.cityjobslinks.com

Public Accounting Firms

BKD, LLP http://www.bkd.com
Deloitte & Touche http://www.deloitte.com/view/en_US/us/index.htm
Ernst & Young http://www.ey.com
Grant Thornton http://www.grantthornton.com
Hogan Taylor LLP http://www.hogantaylor.com
Kennedy & Coe http://www.kcoe.com
KPMG http://www.us.kpmg.com
Mayer Hoffman McCann http://www.mhm-pc.com
Marks, Nelson, Vohland & Campbell http://www.mnvccpa.com
PricewaterhouseCoopers http://www.pwcglobal.com
TPP http://www.tppcpa.com
Directory of Other CPA Firms http://www.cpafirms.com/Firmlist/firmlist.cfm

Business & Industry

Allstate Insurance Company http://www.allstate.com
Amazon http://www.amazon.com/college
American Century Mutual Funds http://www.americancentury.com
Ameritrade http://www.ameritrade.com
Aquila http://www.acquilafunds.com
Boeing http://www.boeing.com
Bombardier Learjet http://www.bombardier.com
Celltron http://www.celltron.com
Cessna http://www.cessna.com
ConocoPhillips http://www.conocophillips.com/
Con-way Truckload http://www.con-way.com
CPI Qualified Plan Consultants http://www.cpiqpc.com
Crossland Construction Company, Inc. http://www.crosslandconstruction.com
Day & Zimmerman http://www.dayzim.com
DCP Midstream http://www.dcpmidstream.com
DST Systems, Inc. http://www.dstsystems.com
EPIQ Systems http://www.epiqsystems.com
Farmers Insurance Group http://www.farmers.com
Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City http://www.kc.frb.org
Freeman Health System http://www.freemanhealth.com/
H&R Block http://www.hrblock.com
International Paper http://www.internationalpaper.com
Koch Industries Incorporated http://www.kochind.com
Leggett & Platt http://www.leggett.com/
Mercy Health Systems http://www.mercykansas.com/jobs
NPC International http://www.npcinternational.com
Nestle Purina http://www.purina.com
Northwestern Mutual Financial Network http://www.nmfn.com
Novastar http://www.novastarmortgage.com
ONEOK http://www.oneok.com
Payless Shoe Source http://www.payless.com
Protiviti http://www.protiviti.com
Raytheon Company http://www.raytheon.com
Schreiber Foods http://www.schreiberfoods.com
Sprint http://www.sprint.com
St. John's Regional Medical Center http://www.stj.com/careers/
Tank Connection http://www.tankconnection.com
Target http://www.target.com
TransUnion http://www.transunion.com
Tyson Foods http://www.tyson.com
Via Christi Health http://www.viachristi.org
Walmart http://www.walmartstores.com
Wells Fargo http://www.wellsfargo.com
Westar Energy http://www.westarenergy.com

Many of the above companies and firms recruit on campus. For more information about becoming an on-campus recruiter of PSU accounting majors contact Chairperson, Department of Accounting, 620-235-4561 or contact Career Services, 620-235-4140.

Internship Resources

Internship Programs http://internshipprograms.com
Intern Web http://internweb.com
USA Jobs

http://www.usajobs.gov/

AccountingMajors.com http://accountingmajors.com/

Additional Information

Additional information about resume preparation, the interviewing process, and career opportunities in our profession is available at the following links: