Share page: 

College of Education Contact

Dean of College of Education:

Dr. James Truelove

* is a required field

Contact Person:
Karen Lasota

* is a required field

Phone: (620) 235-4518
Fax: (620) 235-4520

115 Hughes Hall
Pittsburg State University
1701 South Broadway
Pittsburg, KS 66762-7564

College of Education Awards

Teachers of Promise

Our Teacher of Promise awards are given in conjunction with the Kansas Teacher of the Year activities in the fall and the Kansas Exemplary Educators Conference in the spring. Colleges of Education across the state are asked to send outstanding teacher candidates to participate in these events. Faculty nominate and select two elementary education and two secondary education majors (one each per semester) as their representatives.

Clyde U. Phillips Awards

Outstanding Educator – The Clyde U. Phillips Outstanding Educator Award goes to two people (one elementary and one secondary) who have shown, within their first seven (7) years of service, the potential to make significant contributions to education. To be considered, the nominee must be an alumnus of Pittsburg State University. Nominations are made by area school districts.

Distinguished Service (Administrator and Teacher) – Each year two Kansas educators who are Pittsburg State alumni are chosen for the Clyde U. Phillips Distinguished Service Award—one teacher and one administrator. These awards are in recognition of a career that is characterized by exemplary service. Nominations are made by area school districts or community organizations.

Excellence in Teaching

The Pittsburg State University Foundation offers each of the four colleges an award each year for the purpose of honoring outstanding teaching. Outstanding faculty may be nominated by faculty, staff, or students. This award is based on all aspects of the teaching profession (teaching, service, and research).

apply here

Make a Gift to the College of Education

Follow us on Facebook

Additional Information